Wednesday, January 20, 2010

North Division wins NAHL Top Prospects Tournament, while the South clinches 3rd

Central Division VS. North Division

This year's Top Prospects Tournament came down to the event's final game as the North used a 3 goal 3rd period to run away from a tight game that was tied at 2-2 after the 2nd intermission. A bulk of the North Division's scoring came from 2 players in particularly that were huge today.

Rui Encarnarcao and Brent Bain each scored twice in this game while the Central Goals came from Cory Thorson and Marian Fiala to keep the Central in the game during the 1st and 2nd periods that it looked like for a while that this game could go either way and would have earned the Top Prospects Tournament Title against the North Division with the win today.

The goalies from both teams split the time today as Kevin Kissaw and Matt Wichorek split the time basically down the middle as the North Goalies stopped 22 of 24 shots. For the Central Division, they also did the same thing with the goalies as Ryan Faragher and Chris Kamal together stopped 29 of 33 shots in the game.

For the full tournament, the North scored an impressive 13 goals where the North won this thing because of big time outbursts against the West and Central Divisions.

Central Division 2 North Division 5 (1-1, 1-1, 0-3)
1-0: Marian Fiala (Bournazos, Nehring) 4:51 1st
1-1: Rui Encarnarcao (Jacobsen, Mauermann) 7:13 1st
1-2: Brent Bain (Clifford, Kolb) 3:22 2nd
2-2: Cory Thorson (Klein, Fiala) 8:55 2nd
2-3: Rui Encarnarcao (Jacobsen, Mauermann) 4:47 3rd
2-4: Brent Bain (Kolb, Clifford) 16:06 3rd
2-5: Ross Mauermann (EN) (Gibson) 18:53 3rd

SOG: Central 24 North 33
PIM: Central 4 MIN on 2 PEN North 2 MIN on 1 PEN

Central: Ryan Faragher 15 SVS on 17 Shots Chris Kamal 13 SVS on 15 Shots
North: Kevin Kissaw 10 SVS on 12 Shots Matt Wichorek 12 SVS on 12 Shots


West Division VS. South Division

In what was basically the 3rd place tournament, the South Division used a fast start and then a quick response in the first period. Then afterword, strong goal tending duo of Dan Sullivan and Evan Karambelas helped protect the lead throughout the 2nd period.

Topeka Roadrunner and New Braunfels native Erik Higby scored his 1st and only goal of the tournament which helped kick off the scoring 7 minutes into the game from a great passing play from Martin Sundstedt to make it 1-0 South. The South's lead stood for 5 min until the West Division scored their only goal of the game with Justin Kirchevel at 12:01 of the 1st, but just a 37 seconds later, Blake Edwards who scored his only point of the tournament to make it 2-1.

It stood as the game changer until early 3rd when Craig Kitto scored the first of 2 goals in the 3rd period to make it 3-1. He later made it 4-1 on a strong one timer from Higby to give the South Division their first and only win of the tournament and secured 3rd place from this year's Prospects Tournament.

West Division 1 South Division 4 (1-2, 0-0, 0-2)
0-1: Erik Higby (Sundstedt, Raley) 7:20 1st
1-1: Justin Kirchevel (Scott, Mckellar) 12:01 1st
1-2: Blake Edwards (Hochsprung, Sheehan) 12:38 1st
1-3: Craig Kitto (Hagaman, Ledford) 5:10 3rd
1-4: Craig Kitto (Higby) 12:18 3rd

SOG: West 39 South 30
PIM: West 6 MIN on 3 PEN South 8 MIN on 4 PEN

West: Brandon Jeager 18 SVS on 20 Shots Kale Robertson 8 SVS on 10 Shots
South: Dan Sullivan 14 SVS on 15 Shots Evan Karambelas 24 SVS on 24 Shots


Final Tournament Standings

1. North Division 3-0-0 6 PTS 13-6

2. Central Division 2-1-0 4 PTS 11-9

3. South Division 1-2-0 2 PTS 7-9

4. West Division 0-3-0 0 PTS 6-13

North Division wins the 2010 NAHL Top Prospects Tournament

Scoring Leaders

Goals: Rui Encarnarcao & Brent Bain (3)

Assists: Doug Clifford (5), Ross Mauermann (4), Several tied with 3

Goaltending Leaders

GAA: Evan Karambelas & Matt Wichorek Tied with 1.34

SV%: Evan Karambelas .963

No comments:

Post a Comment