Thursday, April 22, 2010

Allen Americans win big Road Game to Advance to the CHL Championship

For the 2nd straight year in the CHL Southern Conference. It was D/FW VS. West Texas for a spot in the Ray Miron Presidents Cup Final.

Just like last year's Conference Final it's the D/FW Team that's going to advance as the Allen Americans took advantage of an Odessa Jackalopes Team that barely showed up to play as the Americans unknown stars such as Tobias Whelan and Erik Adams played key roles to knock out the Jackalopes at the Southern Conference Final for the 2nd straight year.

The Allen Americans will now face Northern Conference Champion Rapid City Rush as the Rush in only their 2nd season will be playing for the teams first League Championship. It's a battle of CHL New Comers for this year's Ray Miron Presidents Cup Championship.

From the Central Hockey League:

From Odessa, Texas: Capping off an incredible expansion season, the Allen Americans advanced to the Ray Miron Presidents Cup Finals with a Game 7 win over the Odessa Jackalopes by a 4-2 score. The win was the 2nd Game 7 win for the Americans in their brief history (won in deciding versus Laredo in the Conference Semifinals.)

The Americans will now face the Rapid City Rush in the league finals beginning on Friday Night in Rapid City, South Dakota.

Allen's Tobias Whelan gave his team an early lead with a late first period goal and it helped propel his team to the early lead. In the 2nd period, Colton Yellow Horn scored his first of his two goals on the night making it 2-0 Allen.

The Americans would see Collin Circelli cut the lead in half but would quickly respond with the fifth score of the series by Nino Musitelli which ultimately served as the game winner.

Justin Bowers finished his series with two assists in the game with 14 points in the series (5G 9A). Chris Whitley won his 8th game of the playoffs by stopping 26 shots in the game.

The loss for Odessa marked the 2nd straight year that the Jacks have fallen in Game 7 of the Southern Conference Final to a D/FW Team. Last year, the Jackalopes lost in brutal fashion as they lost 8-1 to the Texas Brahmas.

The Allen Americans Win the Series 4-3, Allen will face the Rapid City Rush for the 2010 CHL Ray Miron Presidents Cup Championship Series.

Game Boxscore

Allen Americans 4 Odessa Jackalopes 2 (1-0, 2-1, 1-1)

1-0 ALN: Tobias Whelan (Lukin, Bowers) 17:02 1st

2-0 ALN: Colton Yellow Horn (Fairbarn, Wooddisse) 5:04 2nd

2-1 ODE: Collin Circelli (PP) (Thinel, Ramsay) 15:22 2nd

3-1 ALN: Nino Musitelli (Bowers, Adams) 19:16 2nd

4-1 ALN: Colton Yellow Horn (PP) (Graham, Onabigon) 6:35 3rd

4-2 ODE: Jeff Pierce (EA) (Karlander, Thinel) 19:35 3rd

Game Stats

SOG: ALN 38 ODE 28

PP: ALN 1/4 ODE 1/4

PIM: ALN 10 Minutes on 5 Penalties ODE 8 Minutes on 4 Penalties

Goalies: ALN Chris Whitley 26 SVS on 28 Shots ODE Joel Martin 34 SVS on 38 Shots

ATT: 3914

3rd Star: Sebastien Thinel (ODE)

2nd Star: Justin Bowers (ALN)

1st Star: Chris Whitley (ALN)

No comments:

Post a Comment