Wednesday, May 5, 2010

OHL Championship Game 4: Hall & Fowler come up big to Clinch 2nd straight OHL Championship

Windsor's biggest superstars in Cam Fowler & Taylor Hall each scored twice for the Spitfires to lead the team to complete the sweep and win the OHL Championship for the 2nd straight year and to get back to the Memorial Cup for the 2nd straight year where they will heading to Brandon, Manitoba to defend the teams Memorial Cup. For the Spitfires, they will open the tournament against the Hosts Brandon Wheat Kings to start out on the opening day on May 14.

Expect the Spitfires to also play the Calgary Hitmen as they won Game 3 to go up 3-0. Then in the QMJHL, Moncton leads The best-of-7 series 2-1 after St. John's win last night.

By Aaron Bell of the Ontario Hockey League Website:

From Windsor, Ontario: The Windsor Spitfires have won the Robertson Cup as the OHL Champions for the 2nd straight year with a 4 game sweep of the Barrie Colts in the OHL Championship Series.

Taylor Hall & Cam Fowler scored two goals each to pace the Spitfires to a 6-2 win on Tuesday to complete the series and give the Spitfires their 2nd straight trip to the Memorial Cup.

"We came into this series hockey ready and I think we were a little bit rusty," Hall said. "I think that we worked to our advantage."

The Spitfires won the tournament last year in Rimouski, QC and will open up this year's tournament in Brandon, MB against the Host Wheat Kings next Friday.

"We have some guys on our team that they are a little bit banged up," Hall said. "That break is going to work to our advantage and hopefully we can take advantage of it in Brandon."

Luke Pither opened the scoring for the Colts on a power-play in the first period but Fowler responded in the final minute of the opening frame.

Hall, Fowler, and Adam Henrique all scored in the second period and then Scott Timmins - who won the Robertson Cup for the third time in a row - and Hall rounded out the scoring in the 3rd period. Ryan Ellis had three assists and Philipp Grubauer made 32 saves in the victory.

"It's unbelievable," said Henrique. "We wanted to do it for the fans here. We knew we had a great chance to win it at home tonight. Its a great thing that we were able to do it at home."

Matt Kennedy also scored for the Colts and Peter Di Savo allowed 5 goals on 38 shots in the loss.

It was the Spitfires 8th straight win after coming back from 3-0 down to beat Kitchener in the Western Conference Final.

"I don't know if we learned a lesson from that, but I do know we showed our true colors again - our perseverance and our character in the dressing room," said Spitfires Head Coach coach Bob Boughner. "We had to bring everything we had in this series and we did. I think that helped us for sure."

Henrique won the Wayne Gretzky 99 Award for Championship Series MVP of the playoffs as he was selected by the media covering the championship series.

"It's a great feeling," Henrique said. "I just want to come out every night and play hard and do what I can do to help the team win. Everybody pulled together throughout the playoffs when we were down or up. We stuck together no matter what and that's what got us here. It was a team effort."

Windsor Spitfires Win Series 4-0. Windsor is the 2010 OHL Champions and will advance to the 2010 Memorial Cup which begins on May 14 in Brandon, Manitoba.

Game Boxscore

Barrie Colts 2 Windsor Spitfires 6 (1-1, 1-3, 0-2)

1-0 BAR: Luke Pither (PP) (Hutchings, Crawford) 6:33 1st

1-1 WSR: Cam Fowler (PP) (Ellis, Shugg) 19:34 1st

2-1 WSR: Taylor Hall (PP) (Ellis, Fowler) 0:13 2nd

2-2 BAR: Matt Kennedy (Pietrangelo) 6:07 2nd

3-2 WSR: Cam Fowler (PP) (Timmins, Mitchell) 10:28 2nd

4-2 WSR: Adam Henrique (Ellis) 18:05 2nd

5-2 WSR: Scott Timmins (Hall, Shugg) 9:27 3rd

6-2 WSR: Taylor Hall (EN) (Unassisted) 18:20 3rd

Game Stats

SOG: BAR 35 WSR 38

PP: BAR 1/6 WSR 3/7

PIM: BAR 16 Minutes on 8 Penalties WSR 14 Minutes on 7 Penalties

Goalies: BAR Peter Di Savo 33 SVS on 38 Shots WSR Philipp Grubauer 33 SVS on 35 Shots

ATT: 6575

3rd Star: Philipp Grubauer (WSR)

2nd Star: Scott Timmins (WSR)

1st Star: Cam Fowler (WSR)

No comments:

Post a Comment