Wednesday, June 16, 2010

2010-2011 AHL Divisional Alignment

The Divisional Alignment for the 2010-2011 American Hockey League Season has now come out and as expected, the majority of the movement is in the Eastern Conference.

Even though the Albany River Rats moved to North Carolina to become the Charlotte Checkers. The New Jersey Devils have announced that they are moving their affiliate back to Albany New York for the first time since the early 1990s before the River Rats started playing.

Also the Lowell Devils also moved from the Atlantic to the East Division as the Atlantic will have 7 teams and the East Division has 8 for next season.

The only movement out west was the expansion Oklahoma City Barons joining the league as the West Division will have 8 teams including 4 in the Southwest (Houston, Austin, San Antonio, Oklahoma City).

The North has the same 7 teams which includes the 4 Canadian Teams in the league as well as teams from Grand Rapids, Michigan; Rochester, New York and Cleveland, Ohio.

Also for the first time in a long time, we have 30 teams in the league so all 30 NHL Teams will have their own affiliate.

As for the Playoff format, the playoff format will stay the same with the top 4 teams from each division making the playoffs. The only exception would be if the 5th Place Team from the East & West Divisions are better then the 4th Place Team in the North & Atlantic Division.

Here's a look at the Divisions and the NHL Affiliations

Eastern Conference

Atlantic Division:
Bridgeport Sound Tigers (NYI)
Hartford Wolfpack (NYR)
Manchester Monarchs (LA)
Portland Pirates (BUF)
Providence Bruins (BOS)
Springfield Falcons (CBJ)
Worcester Sharks (SJ)

East Division:
Adirodnack Phantoms (PHI)
Albany Devils (NJ)
Binghamton Senators (OTT)
Charlotte Checkers (CAR)
Hershey Bears (WSH)
Norfolk Admirals (TB)
Syracuse Crunch (ANA)
W-B/Scranton Penguins (PIT)

Western Conference

North Division:
Abbotsford Heat (CGY)
Grand Rapids Griffins (DET)
Hamilton Bulldogs (MTL)
Lake Erie Monsters (COL)
Manitoba Moose (VAN)
Rochester Americans (FLR)
Toronto Marlies (TOR)

West Division:
Chicago Wolves (ATL)
Houston Aeros (MIN)
Milwaukee Admirals (NSH)
Oklahoma City Barons (EDM)
Peoria Rivermen (STL)
Rockford Icehogs (CHI)
San Antonio Rampage (PHX)
Texas Stars (DAL)

No comments:

Post a Comment