Wednesday, August 4, 2010

Central Hockey League to Name Conferences after League Legends

The Central Hockey League announced today the official names of the Northern & Southern Conferences as they will be named after legends from the CHL & IHL as the Northern Conference will be named the Turner Conference after Joseph Turner, while the Southern Conference will be named the Berry Conference after the N. Thomas Berry.

N. Thomas Berry has been involved in the sport of hockey for nearly half a century as Commissioner Emeritus for the CHL and has been involved. He spent 13 years with the IHL Serving as their commissioner from 1989-1994 as he added 7 teams under his term. He currently resides in Indianapolis has served in many capacities covering the on-ice officiating all the way to running ind. teams. He was also involved in the short lived World Hockey Association (WHA) with the Indianapolis Racers.

Joesph Turner who was a goaltender from Windsor, Ontario who played for the Red Wings before WW2 also served with the US Army. He was later killed in December of 1944 during a battle in Belgium. He was an amateur goalie in the old Michigan-Ontario Amateur league which was the predictor of the International Hockey League playing for teams both in Detroit and Windsor. The Turner Cup was later named after him shortly after WW2 ended when the IHL was officially formed.

The Joseph Turner Trophy will serve as the Northern Conference Champions, while the N. Thomas Berry Trophy will be crowned as Southern Conference Champions.

Turner Conference (North)
Bloomington Prairie Thunder
Colorado Eagles
Dayton Gems
Ft. Wayne Komets
Evansville Icemen
Missouri Mavericks
Quad City Mallards
Rapid City Rush
Wichita Thunder

Berry Conference (South)
Allen Americans
Arizona Sundogs
Bossier-Shreveport Mudbugs
Laredo Bucks
Mississippi Riverkings
Odessa Jackalopes
Rio Grande Valley Killer Bees
Texas Brahmas
Tulsa Oilers

No comments:

Post a Comment