Sunday, July 5, 2009

North American Junior League Schedule and Divisional Alignment Part 1 of 2

A few of the Junior Leagues across North America have been coming out over the last few weeks as most of these leagues will get underway any form mid to late September. Here's a look at a few that are already out. Any changes regarding Divisions, Teams entering or leaving different leagues will also be posted.

Part 1 of this post will contain the U.S.A. Based Leagues and the Major Juniors. Part 2 will have the Canadian Junior A Leagues.

U.S.A. Juniors

United States Hockey League (USHL)

The United States Hockey League hasn't come out yet, but their opening event called the USHL Fall Classic which will be taking place from September 24-26 in Sioux City, Iowa. Two teams that have been mainstays in the NAHL will be switching to the USHL this season as the Youngstown Phantoms and the USNTDP will be joining them for the 1st time increasing the number of teams to 14.

With the Youngstown Phantoms and USNTDP entering the league. Here's the new divisional alignment.

East Division
Cedar Rapids Roughriders
Chicago Steel
Green Bay Gamblers
Indiana Ice (Defending Champions)
USNTDP (Moved from NAHL)
Waterloo Blackhawks
Youngstown Phantoms (Moved from NAHL)

West Division
Des Moines Buccaneers (Moved from East Division)
Fargo Force
Lincoln Stars
Omaha Lancers
Sioux City Musketeers
Sioux Falls Stampade
Tri-City Storm

North American Hockey League (NAHL)

19 teams will play in the North American Hockey League Season as the Texas Tornado are back after a year off and a new team called the Janesville Jets will be making their debut. A few teams will start the season on September 11 with the NAHL Blaine Showcase taking place from September 16-19 that will kick off the season for most of the teams.

The North American Hockey League has made a bunch of changes regarding Divisional Alignment as they will have 3 divisions of 5 teams and 1 division of 4 teams.

North Division
Alpena Ice Diggers
Janesville Jets (Expansion Team)
Marquette Rangers
Motor City Machine
Traverse City North Stars

Central Division
Albert Lea Thunder
Alexandria Blizzard
Bismarck Bobcats
North Iowa Outlaws
Owatonna Express

South Division
Springfield Jr. Blues
St. Louis Bandits (Defending Champions)
Texas Tornado
Topeka Roadrunners
Wichita Falls Wildcats

West Division
Alaska Avalanche
Fairbanks Ice Dogs
Kenai River Brown Bears
Wenatchee Wild

Major Juniors

Quebec Major Junior Hockey League (QMJHL)

So far, only the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League has revelled their schedule in which their season will get underway on September 10 with the defending champions Drummondville Voltigeurs while the rest of the league will get underway on September 11.

Also, the Divisional Alinment will stay the same for next year.

West Division
Gatineau Olympqiues
Montreal De Junior
Rouyn-Nornda Huskies
Val-dor Floures

Central Division
Drummondville Voltigeurs (Defending Champions)
Lewiston Maineiacs
Shawinigan Cataractes
Victoriaville Tigers

East Division
Baie-Comeau Drakkar
Chicoutimi Saugeneens
Quebec City Ramparts
Rimouski Oceanic

Atlantic Division
Acadie-Bathrust Titans
Cape Breton Screaming Eagles
Halifax Mooseheads
Moncton Wildcats
P.E.I. Rockets
St. John Seadogs

Western Hockey League (WHL) and Ontario Hockey League (OHL)

Schedules for the WHL and OHL haven't come out yet. However, both leagues divisional aliment will stay the same.

Eastern Conference

East Division
Saskatoon Blades
Brandon Wheat Kings
Swift Current Broncos
Prince Albert Raiders
Regina Pats
Moose Jaw Warriors

Central Division
Calgary Hitmen
Medicine Hat Tigers
Kootenay Ice
Lethbridge Hurricanes
Edmonton Oil Kings
Red Deer Rebels

Western Conference

B.C. Division
Vancouver Giants
Kelowna Rockets (Defending Champions)
Kamloops Blazers
Prince George Cougars
Chilliwack Bruins

U.S. Division
Tri-City Americans
Spokane Cheifs
Seattle Thunderbirds
Everett Silvertips
Portland Winterhawks

Ontario Hockey League

Eastern Conference

East Division
Belleville Bulls
Ottawa 67s
Peterborough Petes
Oshawa Generals
Kingston Frontenacs

Central Division
Brampton Battalion
Mississauga St. Michael's Majors
Barrie Colts
Niagara Icedogs
Sudbury Wolves

Western Conference

Midwest Division
London Knights
Guelph Storm
Erie Otters
Owen Sound Attack
Kitchener Rangers

West Division
Windsor Spitfires (Defending League and Memorial Cup Champions)
Saginaw Spirit
Plymouth Whalers
Sarnia Sting
Sault St. Marie Greyhounds

No comments:

Post a Comment