Wednesday, July 8, 2009

CHL and AHL Conference Alignment for 2009-2010

Two of the top Minor Leagues that hockey fans in the Southwest that they are the most fimilar with, the American Hockey League (AHL) and the Central Hockey League (CHL) have announced their Divisional Alignment for the 2009-2010 season.

American Hockey League (AHL)

For the American Hockey League, the addition of the Texas Stars and several teams moving over the course of the off season have made a few changes to the league for this year.

Eastern Conference

Atlantic Division
Bridgeport Sound Tigers
Hartford Wolfpack
Lowell Devils
Manchester Monarchs
Portland Pirates
Providence Bruins
Springfield Falcons
Worchester Sharks

East Division
Adirondack Phantoms
Albany River Rats
Bingamton Senators
Hershey Bears (Defending Champions)
Norfolk Admrials
Syracuse Crunch
W-B/Scranton Penguins

Western Conference

North Division
Abbotsfield Heat
Grand Rapids Griffins
Hamilton Bulldogs
Lake Erie Monsters
Manitoba Moose
Rochester Americans
Toronto Marlies

West Division
Chicago Wolves
Houston Aeros
Milwaukee Admirals
Peoria Rivermen
Rockford Icehogs
San Antonio Rampage
Texas Stars

The season will start on October 2 and the schedule will be coming out soon.

The 3 Texas teams will play in the West Division, while the Adirondack Phantoms have moved from Philadelphia to New York, the Abbotsford Heat have moved from Molina, Illinois to Abbotsford, B.C. and the Iowa Chops have suspended operations for the 2009-2010 season while they work out their NHL Affiliation Problems.

No changes to the playoff format with the top 4 teams in all 4 Divisions will go.

Central Hockey League (CHL)

With 3 teams annoucning that they will suspend operations this season in the Oklahoma City Blazers, New Mexico Scorpions and the Rocky Mountain Rage sitting out this year while getting off the ice issues resolved. 15 teams will take the ice where the North and South Conferences will remain, but the Divisions are gone. No more Northeast, Southeast, Southwest or Northwest Divisions. It will be straight South and North Conferences this season as the 7 Texas teams will make up the South along with the Arizona Sundogs while teams like the Tulsa Oilers and the Bossier-Shreveport Mudbugs will join the North Conference along with the expansion Missouri Mavericks.

The playoff format will stay unchanged while the top 5 teams in both conferences will still go to the playoffs in both Conferences.

North Conference
Bossier-Shreveport Mudbugs
Colorado Eagles
Mississippi Riverkings
Missouri Mavericks (Expansion)
Rapid City Rush
Tulsa Oilers
Wichita Thunder

South Conference
Allen Americans (Expansion)
Amarillo Gorillas
Arizona Sundogs
Corpus Christi Icerayz
Laredo Bucks
Odessa Jackalopes
Rio Grande Valley Killer Bees
Texas Brahmas (Defending Champions)

No comments:

Post a Comment